The Food For Thought Award

”So give encouragement to each other, and keep strengthening one another, as you do already.” –I Thessalonians 5:11

The first time I was nominated for a blog award, I had to do a little research on what it was exactly–what was it about, where did it come from, was there a cash prize involved…Apparently this seems to be an ongoing chain of recognition among Catholic bloggers (getting a kick out of calling myself that now). While it clearly promotes otherwise little-known sites and creates more network connections between bloggers and readers (which is already a good thing), these blog awards are a way for fellow believers, brothers and sisters, to encourage one another in the service they do (which is a great thing!).

Thanks again, Genesdb, for your unceasing, humbling, grace-filled encouragement. How thankful I am for this new community I find myself in.

The Food For Thought Award, according to my *ahem* extensive research, combines the Super Sweet Blogger and Thought Provoking Awards. I believe I earned this from the undeniably cutesy, batting-eyelashes way I throw my existential verses–“Ask not for Whom the blogger blogs, he blogs for Thee!”

Seriously, if someone out there was made to stop and think about things more, and pray about things more, as a result of reading my blog, then I am deeply, sincerely grateful (insert sweet smile here).

Here are the rules:

1. Post the award on your blog. –Voila!

2. Thank the one who nominated you and link back to their blog. –Thanks, Genesdb!

3. Share seven of your favourite Bible passages. For extra points (Perhaps our Father in heaven will award them), explain why each of these seven passages is a favourite.

Hoh, boy. Just seven? 🙂 Using the New Jerusalem Bible translation for all verses below.

Set your hearts on His kingdom first, and on God’s saving justice, and all these other things will be given you as well. -Matthew 6:33.  This was the very first “promise verse” I held on to way back in high school, when my concerns were exams and papers in the midst of serving community. It’s amazing how it has stayed true throughout the years, whether I’m talking about school, work, or family. Seek Him first, and really, everything else I’m tempted to worry about will follow.

Whatever your work is, put your heart into it as done for the Lord and not for human beings. -Colossians 3:23. The standard of work I must live up to. He deserves nothing less than my best!

None of the trials which have come upon you is more than a human being can stand. You can trust that God will not let you be put to the test beyond your strength, but with any trial will also provide a way out by enabling you to put up with it. -I Corinthians 10:13.  A wake-up call whenever I’m feeling particularly beaten up over circumstances or harsh words spoken against me. God knows what I can take, and is good enough to protect me from anything beyond that.

There is nothing I cannot do in the One who strengthens me. -Philippians 4:13. How can I NOT love this verse?! It’s the type that makes you want to stand up and shout, “Amen!!”

Give in to God, then; resist the devil, and he will run away from you. -James 4:7. The beautiful mystery of how total surrender translates to impenetrable protection.

All that He does is apt for its time; but although He has given us an awareness of the passage of time, we can grasp neither the beginning nor the end of what God does. -Ecclesiastes 3:11. In another version, “He has put the timeless in our hearts.” I love to be reminded that though I operate in days and hours, God, and His ways, don’t. How I wish to teach my heart to desire and wait on God timelessly.

I have fought the good fight to the end; I have run the race to the finish; I have kept the faith. -II Timothy 4:7. What I hope to be able to say as well at the twilight of my life.

4. Nominate seven other bloggers you admire and enjoy! Why seven? In the Bible, seven symbolizes completeness.

Making All Things New

Embers of Incense

dotMagis Blog

Messy Jesus Business

Catholic Cravings

Raising Little Saints

Written by the Finger of God

5. Inform each person that you have nominated them. –I’m on it!

3 thoughts on “The Food For Thought Award

Leave a comment