On Love and Happily Evert After

Forgive the pun, couldn’t resist. ๐Ÿ™‚

Last Thursday, I was so very blessed to have attended a talk by renowned chastity speakers Jason and Crystalina Evert. I hadn’t really heard of them until I was invited by a friend to go to the event, but getting wind of the fact that they were frequently featured on EWTN, I knew I was going to be blessed just by being there.

Me with Jason Evert right before he was whisked away to his next speaking gig.

Me with Jason Evert right before he was whisked away to his next speaking gig.

True enough, I was not disappointed.

In a nutshell, what Jason gave was sound teaching on why and how chastity is something to aspire for. The reasons given were all sensible and rational, even medical/scientific where appropriate, but also, at its very core, submissive to Christ’s call for a life of holiness and love.

Listening to the couple share about their own testimonies as well as numerous anecdotes on the young people they minister to had me laughing one moment, and crying the next. Their candidness and honesty makes it easy for me to believe that teens really do open up to them with their struggles and questions. The fruit of their ministry thus far gives me hope for the future, especially that of my children, that they need not succumb to the pressures of society or the media, but instead hold God’s desire for them over and above their own.

Thanks to my friend Karla for the pictures! Definitely an afternoon well-spent!

Thanks to my friend Karla for the pictures! Definitely an afternoon well-spent!

Believing the truth that God’s call for a life of purity and chastity is not so that we could be good enough for Him, but so that we would never sell ourselves short of what we, body and soul, truly deserve–LOVE. True, unconditional, and real.

While waiting in line to approach Jason, I hurriedly tore a page from my notebook and scribbled my site's address, wanting to introduce myself as a Catholic writer-blogger. Alas, my nerves got the better of me again, and I couldn't get anything out after, "Take picture? With you?"

While waiting in line to approach Jason, I hurriedly tore a page from my notebook and scribbled my site’s address, wanting to introduce myself as a Catholic writer-blogger. Alas, my nerves got the better of me again, and I couldn’t get anything out after, “Take picture? With you?”

 

5 thoughts on “On Love and Happily Evert After

Leave a Reply

